Page 1 of 1
Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:52 pm
by Frewfrux
After attaching the

to the

, can a player leave the event there until it's needed, at which point the

would be returned to the player's hand? Or does the

need to be played right away?
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:55 am
by Admrobbo
Hi, the event is played right away and then discarded.
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:35 am
by Frewfrux
Thanks for that. That's what I thought, but the wording seemed unnecessarily complicated (why bother "attaching" it to a

in the first place?) so I second guessed myself.
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:49 am
by Admrobbo
Hi again, sorry. In respect of Contingency, I believe I am wrong.
Normally an

is played and then discarded.
The heroic action, Contingency, allows the

to attach to a crew. It then stays there but it's effect does not trigger at that time.
If that crew is then returned to your hand, the

is triggered for

cost.
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:14 am
by Frewfrux
I wondered if that would be the case. I needed to play it right away in my game, so it didn't matter to me, but I'm glad I asked. It certainly makes the card a LOT more useful.

Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:43 pm
by Horizon Ian
We are going to review Contingency as it is worded in a difficult way to interpret. Jeff and I may have a chance tomorrow to discuss, though we have different responsibilities at the convention on Monday.
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:09 pm
by Horizon Jeff
Frewfrux wrote: ↑Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:52 pm
After attaching the

to the

, can a player leave the event there until it's needed, at which point the

would be returned to the player's hand? Or does the

need to be played right away?
The captain leaves the

attached to the

until it is played, at which point, as a cost, the

is returned to the captain's hand and the

is played for

.
The

may be played at any time it would otherwise have been eligible if it had been played normally. So an

with a Phase Restriction can still only be played in the appropriate phase. Note, there's nothing to stop you from playing the

immediately, if no other condition prevents it.
So Contingency serves three separate, but related purposes.
1. It lets you search for an

, which can be a handy way to solve a particular problem.
2. If you have

, you can get an

from your discard pile, so if you ended up expending it for

or using it, you can get it back.
3. It reduces the cost to

by returning the attached

. Of course, you'd have to pay to bring that

out again if you wanted to, but there are instances where bringing a card back to your hand may be advantageous. For instance, if they have an ability that generates on being played...
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:15 pm
by Herumen
An additional question re: Contingency: Can the attached event be played at its regular cost, rather than 0, without jettisoning the crew? Or is jettisoning the crew always a requirement?
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:12 pm
by Horizon Jeff
Herumen wrote: ↑Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:15 pm
An additional question re: Contingency: Can the attached event be played at its regular cost, rather than 0, without jettisoning the crew? Or is jettisoning the crew always a requirement?
No, the event may only be played by returning the

to your hand. Jettisoning sends the

to the discard pile.
Re: Contingency - Rules Clarification
Posted: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:04 am
by Horizon Ian
The event cannot be played for its normal EV cost when attached through Contingency.