So,
I've checked and have the following from the rules:
"Hindrance
Hindrance appears almost exclusively on cards meant to be played attached to a card controlled by an opponent, for a deleterious effect. Hindrances have both the Integral and Trifling keywords. Additionally, Gear with Hindrance may be played attached to a Crewcontrolled by an opposing captain, and Upgrade with Hindrance may be played attached to an opposing captain’s Ship."
But, nowhere have I found an explanation of what Hindrance actually does?
I've searched this board and not found it mentioned, so can this be explained?
What is "Hindrance"?
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:59 pm
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator
What is "Hindrance"?
tc+ mt+ mgt tn t20 t4 t5 tg th tccg ru+ ge+ 3i C jt- au+ ls pi ta- he+ KK hi+ as++ va+ dr ith vr ne so h vi da sy
www.usedstarships.com
www.usedstarships.com
-
Horizon Jeff
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
Hindrance is a keyword, so all it does on its own is encompassed by the text you quoted. For simplicity, I'll break it down into three components:
You can attach the card onto a card controlled by an opponent. For instance, a
with Hindrance can be attached to an opposing
.
Hindrance includes by default the keywords Trifling and Integral.
Integral: Prevents the card from being moved, except to an out of play region
Trifling: Cards with Trifling don't count against the slot limit for cards you can have in play. So a Hindrance
doesn't prevent the
from having other
attached.
But the reason to play Hindrances is that they have effects that hurt the card they're attached to. For instance, Realms of Rampage is a Hindrance
that
the attached when it is first played, and threatens to
the
every Ready Phase.
You can attach the card onto a card controlled by an opponent. For instance, a


Hindrance includes by default the keywords Trifling and Integral.
Integral: Prevents the card from being moved, except to an out of play region
Trifling: Cards with Trifling don't count against the slot limit for cards you can have in play. So a Hindrance



But the reason to play Hindrances is that they have effects that hurt the card they're attached to. For instance, Realms of Rampage is a Hindrance




-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:59 pm
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
OK,
To take this from the card which sparked the question:
"Police Raid" (Subsidized Merchant Ship #30)
Action Phase
_
: Inflict 1
on target
,
it, then attach this card to the target as a Hindrance. Attached gains Unsavory.
: As above, then inflict 1
on any number of target Unsavory
.
So, taking this apart...
I would expect a Hindrance to be an on-going obstruction.
So,
1) "my"
with
will
this in the
phase.
In doing so, my
with
is
in the process.
I Inflict 1
on target
and
it....OK. This is nothing "ongoing" except where
caused by "
" which, if not healed, will continue to effect that
....Not a hindrance so far....
"Then", the card is attached and that
gains "Unsavory"...which "can" hurt in some circumstances but also can help!
In fact, there are contracts that require Unsavory.....so Thank you! You may have just increased the diversity of my crew!
Now 2)
"my"
with
does the same as above along with having used a shotgun or automatic
to hit more than a single
, spraying all my Unsavory minions....
Still, not an on-going obstruction, and so...to my mind...not a Hindrance
I can see a Pistol with "Hindrance" if it only causes the lightest of
, or can only be used in limited situations....because ir prevents the
so equipped from Jettisoning the Hindrance "
" for a better "
".
But this hindrance does not prevent the "hindered"
from being equipped with
But this hindrance does not prevent the "hindered" Captain from making any
Indeed, the differences between this card and "Neural Gun"(Empress Marava Far Trader Ship #33) are:
1) It causes 1
tothe Target 
2) at
, it causes
to multiple 
So, this is not a Hindrance...it is an instance of
use
To take this from the card which sparked the question:
"Police Raid" (Subsidized Merchant Ship #30)
Action Phase










So, taking this apart...
I would expect a Hindrance to be an on-going obstruction.
So,
1) "my"




In doing so, my



I Inflict 1







"Then", the card is attached and that

In fact, there are contracts that require Unsavory.....so Thank you! You may have just increased the diversity of my crew!
Now 2)
"my"





Still, not an on-going obstruction, and so...to my mind...not a Hindrance
I can see a Pistol with "Hindrance" if it only causes the lightest of






But this hindrance does not prevent the "hindered"


But this hindrance does not prevent the "hindered" Captain from making any

Indeed, the differences between this card and "Neural Gun"(Empress Marava Far Trader Ship #33) are:
1) It causes 1


2) at



So, this is not a Hindrance...it is an instance of


tc+ mt+ mgt tn t20 t4 t5 tg th tccg ru+ ge+ 3i C jt- au+ ls pi ta- he+ KK hi+ as++ va+ dr ith vr ne so h vi da sy
www.usedstarships.com
www.usedstarships.com
-
Horizon Jeff
- Posts: 470
- Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
There's a lot to unpack there. I'm not really sure where the
is coming into it, so for clarity I'm going to explain from the top rather than try and respond to the specific scenario in your post.
Police Raid is a
that
with the proper skill can perform in the Action Phase, and it's clear from your question you understand that mechanic.
So when you perform Police Raid at
, you target an enemy
,
it, inflict one
, then attach the card as a Hindrance. The consequence of the Hindrance is that it gives Unsavory.
All of this you seemed to understand really well, but the
part was confusing to me.
If you have the
version of the skill, then after resolving all the
effects, you can then choose any number of Unsavory
and inflict one
on them. This can include the original target of the skill, in effect inflicting two
on them. But then it also does one
to any other Unsavory
you decide to include.


Police Raid is a


So when you perform Police Raid at




All of this you seemed to understand really well, but the


If you have the







-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:59 pm
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
Yes,
That description of "Police Raid" matches my understanding.
And my use of "
" was meant to equate to "Gear of subtype Weapon"
But, I intended it to lead to Two points which I may not have made as prominent as I wanted.
Point 1: Gaining the Attribute "Unsavory" is not a Hindrance
like "Deshaun Jasso" and "Siobhan El-Amin" Start as Unsavory
such as "Class X, Startown Bar" promote Unsavory
such as "Body Pistol" relate specifically to Unsavory
And cutting to the chase, Unsavory can be beneficial:
___The complication "Friends from Before" states:
______Jettison an Unsavory
your control or inflict 1
on each of your
.
______So, if I do not have an Unsavory
then "ALL" of my crew get damaged
Point 2: A Hindrance stops a player from doing things they "should be able to" do unless they take additional actions or pay additional costs.
Manning your ship with Unsavory or (for lack of a better term) ethical
is a player-decision based on the deck that Captain has built and Savory or not will affect how "that choice" was made. There is not "should be able to" here.
But every Captain "should be able to" attach a
of any subtype to a character if there is an available slot
Every Captain "should be able to" attach an
of any subtype to that Captain's
if there is an available slot
If a
with the Keyword Hindrance "prevented" a Captain from attaching additional
in a way they "should be able to", then that would be an actual hindrance.
Of course, this runs afoul of the property of Hindrance that it includes "Trifling"
If a
of type
had Hindrance but did "not" have "Trifling", that
would not be able to have another
of type
attached without the aid of yet another card being put in play and affecting that
or relationship somehow.
"That" is a Hindrance.
I hope I have made my points more clearly visible
That description of "Police Raid" matches my understanding.
And my use of "


But, I intended it to lead to Two points which I may not have made as prominent as I wanted.
Point 1: Gaining the Attribute "Unsavory" is not a Hindrance



And cutting to the chase, Unsavory can be beneficial:
___The complication "Friends from Before" states:
______Jettison an Unsavory



______So, if I do not have an Unsavory

Point 2: A Hindrance stops a player from doing things they "should be able to" do unless they take additional actions or pay additional costs.
Manning your ship with Unsavory or (for lack of a better term) ethical

But every Captain "should be able to" attach a

Every Captain "should be able to" attach an


If a


Of course, this runs afoul of the property of Hindrance that it includes "Trifling"
If a






"That" is a Hindrance.
I hope I have made my points more clearly visible
tc+ mt+ mgt tn t20 t4 t5 tg th tccg ru+ ge+ 3i C jt- au+ ls pi ta- he+ KK hi+ as++ va+ dr ith vr ne so h vi da sy
www.usedstarships.com
www.usedstarships.com
-
Horizon Ian
- Posts: 157
- Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:32 am
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
Hindrance has a more modest meaning than you think it does.
A gear or upgrade with Hindrance also gains Integral and Trifling. Some cards reference Hindrance, such as EnviroSafe Vacc Suit.
That's it, mechanically. The rest about deleterious effects and whatnot is to help players understand why they would put cards in their decks that don't make their own stuff better.
There's nothing in the definition of Hindrance that requires that it stop a crew or ship from doing something.
Police Raid becomes a gear with Hindrance - a type of gear with Integral and Trifling - stop. The gear's effect is to give the attached crew Unsavory. That's it.
You may want more of your crew to be Unsavory for some reason, in which case playing it on your own crew might make sense even if it deals a wound to your crew (maybe the crew has Armor and ignores it, anyway). Point being that Hindrances aren't necessarily bad for whatever they are attached to. A lot of customizable card games see similar card plays where something that is generally negative may be a positive in the right circumstances.
A gear or upgrade with Hindrance also gains Integral and Trifling. Some cards reference Hindrance, such as EnviroSafe Vacc Suit.
That's it, mechanically. The rest about deleterious effects and whatnot is to help players understand why they would put cards in their decks that don't make their own stuff better.
There's nothing in the definition of Hindrance that requires that it stop a crew or ship from doing something.
Police Raid becomes a gear with Hindrance - a type of gear with Integral and Trifling - stop. The gear's effect is to give the attached crew Unsavory. That's it.
You may want more of your crew to be Unsavory for some reason, in which case playing it on your own crew might make sense even if it deals a wound to your crew (maybe the crew has Armor and ignores it, anyway). Point being that Hindrances aren't necessarily bad for whatever they are attached to. A lot of customizable card games see similar card plays where something that is generally negative may be a positive in the right circumstances.

Ian Lee
Lead Developer

-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:30 am
- Medals: 2
- Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator
Re: What is "Hindrance"?
Two points:
1. It's called a "Hindrance" in part because if it does negatively impact the
it can only be gotten rid of with abilities that remove Hindrances.
can be healed at every ready phase. Hindrances stick to the
. And if you include other cards that negatively affect Unsavory then it really does become a Hindrance to the other player in the "negative consequence" sense.
Wabapawab and "On the Lam" can then target them, for instance.
2. The opposite trait to Unsavory would probably be "Altruistic", a trait several
have.
1. It's called a "Hindrance" in part because if it does negatively impact the



Wabapawab and "On the Lam" can then target them, for instance.
2. The opposite trait to Unsavory would probably be "Altruistic", a trait several

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests