Page 1 of 1
					
				Infamy Tokens
				Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:47 pm
				by Frewfrux
				When purchasing 

, 

, 

, or 

 and using a cost modifier, when does the cost modifier take effect?
For example, if an 

 cost was zero, you had 2 

, and a card reduced the cost by 

, would it still be free, or would the 

 tokens have their effect after all modifications?
 
			
					
				Re: Infamy Tokens
				Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:22 pm
				by Horizon Jeff
				Modifiers are applied in a way so that all "count."  It is possible for a value to be modified below 0, but then when it's time to resolve the value, it'll be resolved as 0 (see rulebook page 22).
So the order of operations doesn't really matter.  
0+2 = 2 then 2-2 = 0, 
0-2 = -2 then -2+2 = 0.  
Another way to think about it is if you drew up all the modifiers alone and crossed them out as they counteracted each other, then added the net to obtain a total.
			 
			
					
				Re: Infamy Tokens
				Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:14 am
				by Frewfrux
				So, in my example, the cost of the card is 0, it's modified by infamy tokens to be 2, and modified by another card/event to cost 2 less (-2). What you're saying is that they all have their effect at the same time, right?
0 + 2 - 2 = 0, or 0 - 2 + 2 = 0
That's good news. I was fearing that, if something reduced the cost, this reduction would have it's effect first, before the 

 effect, resulting in...
0 - 2 = 0 (because you don't go below 0), followed by that result +2 = 2.
But I see by your example that you don't raise negative numbers to zero until after everything has been accounted for and the captain goes to "pay" for the card. 
