Jack of Trades, skills and timing
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:21 pm
The rules are quite clear that "During Stage 1 of the Resource Phase, the controlling captain must announce which tokens they wish to collect from any
with Jack of Trades". My questions are: can one use
to acquire a skill useable for other purposes besides (or in addition to) acquiring resource tokens or can it only be used for tokens? If it can be used as a skill, can it then be declared before the Resource Phase?
Here is the situation I have in mind: I have played the stalwart
Lt. Cmdr Sir Sandar van Othlezee, and in the Action Phase I pay a credit to obtain
. What I would like to do is declare the
as
, then play Crash Course
to increase the
to
, then play Opportune Alliances
to procure a
or
(all within the Action Phase) . Or has my reach completely exceeded my grasp?
I'm not trying to run fast and loose with the rules, but I must admit that I have come late to the realization that
might be far more limited than I thought at first. Then again...


Here is the situation I have in mind: I have played the stalwart










I'm not trying to run fast and loose with the rules, but I must admit that I have come late to the realization that
